The 8(a) STARS III Governmentwide Acquisition Contract (GWAC) is a small business set-aside contract that provides flexible access to customized IT solutions from a large, diverse pool of 8(a) industry partners. This GWAC has achieved the designation of “Best In Class” (BIC) by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB). This designation is used to denote contracts that meet rigorous category management performance criteria, including: (1) rigorous requirements definitions and planning processes; (2) appropriate pricing strategies; (3) data-driven strategies to change buying and consumption behavior (i.e., demand management); (4) category and performance management strategies; and (4) independently validated reviews.

The primary North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) code for the Master Contract is designated as 541512 (Computer Systems Design Services). Requirements that align with other IT services NAICS codes are within the scope of the STARS III GWAC. These NAICS codes include, but are not limited to 541511 (Custom Computer Programming Services), 541513 (Computer Facilities Management Services), 541519 (Other Computer Related Services), 518210 (Data Processing, Hosting, and Related Services.

Examples of work to be performed relative to Order requirements include the following: (1) Data Management; (2) Information and Communications Technology; (3) IT Operations and Maintenance; (4) IT Security / IT Workforce Augmentation; (5) Software Development; and (6) Systems Design. These examples are not meant to be all-inclusive, but rather general indications of the types of services within a given IT services-based solution. Other services not listed as examples, but which adhere to the definition of IT, are within scope and may be provided to meet an agency’s particular mission needs.

The Emerging Technology-Focused IT Services provides for IT services-based solutions which involve Emerging Technology (ET) innovation to securely accelerate transformation and advance mission outcomes.  ET can be understood as evolving state-of-the-art information technologies and their use in solutioning to improve and/or transform business processes and enhance mission delivery. ET includes those technologies that are not yet mature in the marketplace and have the potential for wide-spread adoption. These technologies are in the early stages of their life cycles and have been implemented by early adopters.

Illustrative ET examples include but are not limited to: (1) Artificial Intelligence (including Machine Learning, Deep Learning/Neural Networks, Natural Language Generation); (2) Autonomic Computing; (3) Blockchain / Distributed Ledger; (4) Quantum Computing; (5) Robotic Process Automation; (6) Technological Convergence; and (7) Virtual Reality (including Augmented Reality, Extended Reality, Mixed Reality).


Contract Vehicle: GSA 8(a) STARS III

Contract Number: 47QTCB22D0627


DUNS: 197746022

Cage Code: 38XU6

Program Manager: Macey Smith

Program Manager Email: [email protected]

Phone: 301-880-9115


8(a) STARS III Governmentwide Acquisition Contract (GWAC)